па-беларуску по-русски english
The Holy See and the International Community

Diplomatic relations
of the Holy See with 178 States worldwide

Today, the Holy See has diplomatic relations with 178 States. The most recent were established with the Russian Federation on 9 December 2009. Other States include the European Union, the Sovereign Military Order of Malta and a Mission with a special character: the Office of the Palestine Organization for the Liberation of Palestine (PLO).

With regard to International Organizations, the Holy See is present at the UN in the capacity of "State Observer" and is also a Member of seven Organizations or Agencies of the UN system, Observer in another eight and Member and Observer in five Regional Organizations.

In the course of 2009, an Agreement was signed with the Schleswig-Holstein Land, Germany, to regulate the Catholic Church's legal situation in that Land; the exchange of the instruments of ratification took place on 27 May.

On 5 March the 6th Additional Accord of the Convention between the Holy See and Austria to regulate Patrimonial Relations was signed; the documents of ratification were exchanged on 14 October.

On 9 December, the Holy See established diplomatic relations with the Russian Federation, at the level of Apostolic Nunciature on the part of the Holy See and the level of Embassy on the part of the Russian Federation.

On 10 December, the Holy See proceeded to exchange with Brazil the instruments of ratification of the Agreement, which had been signed on 13 November 2008.
Lastly, on 17 December a monetary convention was agreed on between Vatican City State and the European Union. It came into force immediately.

(L’Osservatore Romano
, weekly edition in English, Wednesday, 20 January 2010, page 2)

Bilateral and multilateral diplomatic relations of the Holy See
Пагадненні паміж Святым Пасадам і міжнароднай супольнасцю
© 2019 Apostolic Nunciature in Belarus